Arnold History Essay Award Recipients

2016 AWARD Recipient

The winner of the 2016 Joseph Arnold Prize is Barry Kessler for his essay entitled “Fresh Air and Cheer”: The Origins of Camp Louise in the Settlement House Movement of Baltimore’s Jewish Community.

2015 Award recipient

The winner of the 2015 Joseph Arnold Prize is Aiden James Faust for his essay entitled Neighborhood Matters: What Baltimore Learned from the War on Poverty.

2014 Award Recipients

Entries for 2014 were judged by a review panel of six scholars of Baltimore history. Dr. Ed Orser, UMBC, chaired the review panel.   The panelists found two of the entries to be of  exceptional strength and decided that the  conferral of co-winners was merited.

The winners are:

•Deborah Weiner, Insiders and Outsiders: Jewish-Gentile Relations in Baltimore During the Interwar Era

•Dennis Halpin, 'For My Race Against All Political Parties': Building a Radical African-American Activist Foundation in Baltimore, 1870s-1885

Reviewers were impressed that both papers made excellent use of primary documents, developed original arguments, and contributed to an understanding of important aspects of Baltimore history.

Of Insiders and Outsiders, one reviewer wrote:

 “[‘Insiders and Outsiders’] accurately describes a world in which, for example, a Jew could be Maryland’s speaker of  the house while Baltimore’s mayor welcomes a Nazi ship to his city.  Even as anti-Semitism reached its peak, Jews were more engaged than ever in Baltimore’s civic and cultural life.  While this dichotomy reflected national trends, circumstances peculiar to Baltimore gave the position of Jews its own distinct character.”

A review of  For My Race Against All Political Parties commented:

 “For Black Baltimoreans [the late 1870s and early 1880s] represented a crucial period when a new set of community activists slowly emerged to challenge not only racist white policies, but also established leaders who had seized the mantel of uplift with the fall of slavery.  . . . Men like Harvey Johnson, Joseph S. Briscoe, H. J. Brown, and P. H. A. Braxton pushed Baltimore’s Black community in new directions.”

2013 Award Recipient

The award of  the Joseph  L. Arnold Prize for Outstanding Writing  on Baltimore History in 2013 was granted  to  Charlotte F. Gerczak for her paper entitled The Courage of her Convictions: the Story of Miriam Brailey.

The paper tells the forgotten story of Miriam Esther Brailey, M.D., Dr.P.H., an exceptional woman born with the twentieth century who graduated from both The Johns Hopkins Schools of Medicine and of [then] Hygiene and Public Health.  She went on to serve the citizens of Baltimore City and both the public and private sectors and to meet life's challenges with determination and faith, even at the risk of her own security. 

2012 award recipient

Eric L. Goldstein, Associate Professor of History at Emory University won the 2012 contest with his essay, How German Were ‘German’ Jews in America in the Nineteenth Century?  A View from Baltimore, and was ranked highest by a panel of five distinguished scholars of Baltimore history. The winning paper can be found here.

2011 award recipient

Winner of the 2011 contest was Sara Patenaude, PH.D. candidate in the History Department of Georgia State University, for her paper, Playing Fair: The Fight for Interracial Athletics in Baltimore. The Society thanks all those who submitted entries, as well as the following judges, who helped to select the winners: Dr. John Beihan, Loyola University of Maryland; Dr. Elizabeth M. Nix, University of Baltimore; and Dr. Michael Franch, Past-president, Baltimore City Historical Society. Thanks, too, to Dr. W. Edward Orser, UMBC, who administered the 2011 competition. To view the winning paper, click here.

2010 award recipients

Co-winners of the 2010 contest were Eric M. Daniel, for his paper,  Northwest Real Estate Company v. Serio: The "Invasion" of a Northwest Baltimore Suburb, and Jordan Vardon, for his paper, Green v. Garrett: How the Economic Boom of Professional Sports Helped to Create, and Destroy, Baltimore's Memorial Stadium. The Society thanks all those who submitted entries, as well as the following judges, who helped to select the winners: Dr. Jean H. Baker, Goucher College; Dr. Peter B. Levy, York College; Dr. W. Edward Orser, UMBC; and Dr. Kaye Whitehead, Loyola College. To view the winning entries, click here and here.